U.S. Autumn Preview: Fox

Ah, Fox. A mass of contradictions. On the one hand, you’ve got their news channel, the most right-wing news station this side of Sky, whilst on the other, you’ve got some of the most forward-thinking, commie shows on TV like Glee or Family Guy.

Renewals

No surprises in that huge hits like Glee, Family Guy, American Idol, The Simpsons, Bones, House etc have been renewed, as well as moderate successes like American Dad, The Cleveland Show, Bob’s Burgers and Raising Hope. The biggest and most awesome piece of news would be the full renewal of Fringe, which if you didn’t know is all kinds of crazy awesome.

Cancellations

Apparently the two biggest losses are Human Target and Breaking In, but I don’t watch either of them, so *shrug*.

New Shows

The X Factor – A US version of a little known British show. I’ve never heard of it.

.

New Girl – Stars Zooey Deshanel as a girl who moves in with three guys. I hope it to be awesome mainly because of her and how incredible she is (she looks like if Katy Perry washed more), but I hope it won’t just turn out to be some tired old “Girls like romcoms, guys like sports LOOOOLZ” clash of the sexes thing. Oh, and make sure the boys all have distinct personalites, otherwise, what’s the point?

.

Alcatraz – The annual “New Lost”, mainly because it stars Hurley, and is produced by JJ Abrams. The premise is that 50 years ago a big pile of inmates at Alactraz vanished, and now they’ve turned up again. The thing with these mystery shows is that they only work if they have life after the initial mystery of the one sentence pitch. Lost did. The Event didn’t. This could deffo go either way.

.

Terra Nova – Future people escape all the crappiness of the future by either going to another planet, or going into the past, I’m not sure which. Basically if it’s just “Let’s all try to live happily, and not get eaten by dinosaurs”, then not so much. If there’s someone using the dinosaurs against the colonists, then I might be able to get on board. I just don’t want a tropical kitchen sink drama, thank you very much.

.

I Hate My Teenage Daughter – I was really looking forward to this one. A great premise (two women find their daughters have turned into their high-school bullies) plus it stars Jaime Pressley (Joy from My Name Is Earl, one of the greatest sitcom characters ever). Then I watched the trailer. Sigh. I think I smiled once, whereas from the laughter track, you’d think it was so funny, I’d lose my colon. Plus the lead actresses are over-acting like I have never seen before. I’m going to guess cancellation, unless they can tone down the canned laughter, hammy facial expressions, and up the joke quota. I doubt it, frankly.

About rmdbutler

2007 Brit Award nominee for Best International Female
This entry was posted in Alcatraz, New Girl, The X Factor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to U.S. Autumn Preview: Fox

  1. Vicky says:

    I am super excited about Terra Nova! I’m holding out for it to be like a mini Jurassic Park each week ( 1and 3, perhaps not 2 so much!) They go back into the past to get to the new colony- the portal they jump through is a glitch in the space/time continuum, apparently.

Leave a Reply

