Hooray, Hooray, Have a Holly Holiday

You know when you watch an episode of something and think “Yes. This is what it should be like every week”. This is exactly what I thought of this week’s Glee. And that gives me a warm tingly feeling inside. Not like that though, you filthy sod.

Not that this was a particularly amazing episode. It didn’t have nearly enough jokes, and the storylines both felt somewhat half-hearted. But everything about it felt like vintage Glee. All my least fav characters (Finn, Artie) were sidelined and even Mr Schue wasn’t the smug arrogant twat he normally is. All the songs were really good, all the characters were consistant, and we got one hell of a guest star in ol’ Gwynnie.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never been a huge fan of Gwyneth. She seems like she might be a bit of a dickhead in real life and I’ve never seen her in anything that she amazed me in. Even in Shakespeare in Love, which she won her Oscar for, I wanted her to move aside so I could look at Joseph Fiennes some more. (What do you want from me, I was about 10) But here she was amazing. Just the right amount of likeable, without falling into obnoxious, but still utterly believeable when she got out of her depth. Most teachers who try to get “down wid da kidz” always pissed me off, normally because they’re the sort to let bullying go without any fuss, but she really made me like her. An Emmy for Ms Paltrow, please. Although, srsly, how much does she sound like Kurt when she sings. It’s really freaky.

As I said upwards, Mr Schue didn’t even piss me off. Taking him down a peg or two with the flu was a good move, and then another few pegs when everyone loved Holly more could have been too much, but fortunately it always felt like he deserved it. I miss the days when I liked him. Although, I do enjoy me a good Journey joke. Oh, and Terri? Piss off. You’re done here. You’ve been literally no use since the middle of Season 1. Go.

Sue taking over the school was fairly awesome, particularly her confrontation with the ever more amazing Coach Beiste. Her tryannical behaviour always feels like it shouldn’t get nearly as far as it does, but if she’s in charge it basically gives her permission to do whatever she likes, and for it to remain basically believeable. I like.

As for Mercedes’ storyline, I’m not sure. Is it so bad for Mercedes to hang out with Kurt loads if she’s not in a relationship? Or expect to still be able to hang out with him even if he finds someone? A boyfriend’s not the be all and end all, you know. Although I must say, I do sympathise with her during the Breadstix scene. I know for a fact that if gay rights gets brought up around me, I’m pretty much going to talk about that until someone puts a purse in my mouth to shut me up.

And as an aside, I love Rachel when she’s in full competitive mode. I find endearing. I know most other people don’t, but I do.

The Songs

Forget You – Look this song has been overplayed, OK? Let’s leave it alone. Still, for what it is, this version is amazing. Full of energy and gets the whole gang involved. Love it. A

Make ‘Em Laugh – VERY well danced, but I just don’t find gurning and falling over particularly funny. Soz. C

Nowadays/Hot Honey Rag – I loves me some Chicago. And this was incredibly well done. Slight problem, if you want someone to look like an amazing performer, don’t put her directly next to Lea Michele. She’s always going to look bad in comparison. B

Singin’ In the Rain/Umbrella – I adore this. I know that lyrics actually contradict each other but I don’t care. Along with the rain machine, this is one of my favourite Glee performances ever. A*

The Quotes

I suggest selling yourself on Craigslist under the heading of ‘Men seeking Men with butt chins.’ – Sue to Will

You make the underflaps of my breasts burn – Sue

Mr. Schu taught me the second half of the alphabet. I stopped after M and N. I thought they sounded too similar and got frustrated. – Brittany

When I showed this to Brittany, she whimpered and thought I cut down a small tree where a family of gummy people lived. – Sue about a piece of broccoli

You smell homeless, Brett. Homeless. – Kurt

Oh my gosh, I open my mouth and a little purse falls out. – Kurt

About rmdbutler

2007 Brit Award nominee for Best International Female
This entry was posted in Glee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

