Praise Cheesus!

I think this post may be slightly influenced by the fact that I’m British. Cos as we’re all aware, religion in America at the moment is a… shall we say, touchy subject. So to have two main characters in a show proclaim their atheism, proving religion isn’t in fact the only choice, in a show as huge as Glee, even if they needed to be be “proved wrong” by the end, is pretty amazing.

I’ve got nothing against religion, per se, and if people get hope and feelings of safety out of it, that’s incredible. Personally, I’m a big agnostic so can sympathise with all of the characters, but ended up siding with Kurt and Sue. Why? Because of the relentless pushing of religion by other characters. Mercedes wouldn’t stop pushing it in Kurt’s face. Rachel, Mercedes and Quinn went and prayed at Burt’s bedside, despite Kurt specifically asking them not to. Everyone started on Kurt for not wanting to listen to their yammering about Him upstairs when he was going through the most difficult time in his life! Get some persepective, people!

But for once on Glee, the characters actually had really good motiviation for what they were doing. Kurt wanted them all to shut up, as his gayness means religion can pretty much do one. Sue and her sister (love them together) was incredibly sweet, and heartbreaking, and once again gives Sue more than a second dimension whether she likes it or not. Even the religious kids were only doing what they were doing because they genuinely believed it would help Kurt. And whilst they both had to learn the lesson, Kurt only accepted the religion for his Dad’s sake, and Sue for her sister. Which was utterly right. And seriously, Chris Colfer and Jane Lynch deserve so much more than Golden Globes. Incredible work from the pair of them.

Oh, and for the third week in a row, Finn can shit off. Yelling at Kurt when he had, you know, things on his mind that weren’t Finn, followed up by praying to Cheesus for stuff for himself, despite “the closest thing he has to a father” lying in a coma. Even Puck isn’t that selfish. And then when Emma tells him to stop being such a mong he acts like he’s having a massive existential crisis rather than just finding out our Lord and Saviour doesn’t reside in his sandwich.

Despite Finn’s knobishness and the general religion-forcing of the others, this was an amazing episode. Funny, thought-provoking and tear-jerking. God, was it tear-jerking.

The Songs

Only The Good Die Young: I don’t really know what this has to do with Judaism, but who cares? I’d listen to Mark Salling sing the phone book. B

I Look To You: Not exactly vintage era Whitney but a nice song, and of course Amber Riley smashes it. B

Papa Can You Hear Me?: I’ll be honest, I’ve never seen Yentl, and I was too angry at Rachel for going against Kurt’s wishes to enjoy it, so this one left me a bit cold. Very well sung though, globvs. C

I Want To Hold You Hand: Dear sweet Lord. Possibly the most heartbreaking rendition of any song ever. The first time I watched it, I had my laptop on my stomach and I couldn’t see the screen cos it was bouncing up and down so much from my “crying breathing”. Chris Colfer is outstanding. Love the arrangement too. I’d say, quite happily, better than the original. A*

Losing My Religion: Go away, Finn. D

Bridge Over Troubled Water: Ooh, I love me a gospel choir. And, once again, Amber Riley owns it. B

One of Us: A really sweet, very “Glee” rendition of a largely overlooked song. Very nice. A

The Quotes

“Last week we were too sexy, this week we’re too religious” “Now I know how Miley feels” – Tina and Brittany

“I made him a card saying ‘Heart attacks are just from loving too much'” – Brittany (plus Santana’s little smile to her warmed my cold cold heart)

“I did a book report on heart attacks if you wanna give it to the doctor. It got knocked down a whole grade because I did it in crayon.” – Brittany

“If your students wanna praise God, I suggest they enroll in Sweet Holy Mother of God Academy on St. Jesus Street.” – Sue

“Whenever I pray, I fall asleep.” – Brittany

“I’m a total Jew for Jesus. He’s my number one Heeb.” – Puck

“Brittany, Jugs the Clown” – Sue addressing Brittany and Santana

“You can’t prove there isn’t a magic teapot floating around the dark side of the moon with a dwarf inside of it that reads romance novels and shoots lightening out of its boobs.” – Kurt

“Is God an evil dwarf?” – Brittany

About rmdbutler

2007 Brit Award nominee for Best International Female
This entry was posted in Glee. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Praise Cheesus!

  1. cupidsbow says:

    I disagree with “his gayness means religion can pretty much do one.” I don’t think homosexuality and a belief in God are mutually exclusive.

Leave a Reply

