And I Am Telling You I’m Not Going

The next time I wake up, I will be able to watch a brand new episode of Glee. I’m so excited I could vomit. But in the meantime, let’s continue with my series 1 recap, shall we?

Hairography

Imagine: I’m sorry but I’m just going to say it. Singing should be for people who can hear. These deaf kids are just standing there honking or something, and everyone’s crying and I’m just feeling super uncomfortable. Still, the official version, with only our Glee kids singing is pretty good. B

True Colors: This is lovely. I really nice song, a beautiful arrangement, and finally a chance for Tina to shine. Hopefully she’ll get more solos this year. A

Mattress

Smile (Lily Allen): Oh Rachel. You’re so talented in so many ways, but your cock-er-ney accent is even worse than Lily’s. Dick van Dyke would be proud. D

Smile (Charlie Chaplin): Much better. A song that can make you cry and smile at the same time. Although, was I the only one who was mega-shocked to learn Charlie Chaplin did it originally? I didn’t know he could sing. I didn’t even know he could talk. A

Jump: Brilliant. Not only one of the best routines of the series, but a really good song done really well. A

Sectionals

And I Am Telling You: Well obviously. The entire first half of the season was building up to find an opportunity for Mercedes to sing this and she fucking nails it. The only criticism I can think of is that it’s not Jennifer Hudson. A*

Don’t Rain On My Parade: Now ruined by Lea Michele’s frankly desperate attempt for someone to cast her in Funny Girl when she performed it at the Tonys, this is still an epic version of this song. A

You Can’t Always Get Want You Want: I know that this song is all soul-clensing for Finn and everything but frankly, they could have picked something a bit better and a bit more well known for their big Sectionals performance. C

My Life Would Suck Without You: I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love this performance, not only for the snippets of past dance routines performed, but also for the best slo-mo run down a corridor/passionate kiss, in the history of television. A*

Hell-O

Gives You Hell: The best break-up song in the history of the UNIVERSE. Whenever you feel angry at anyone, even if it isn’t an ex, just turn this song up full blast, and scream along with it. Soothing. A*

Hello: OK, I’ll say it now, I have a huge crush on Jonathan Groff. Therefore, him singing a beautiful love song is always going to get my loins a-burning. A

Hello, Goodbye: Nice. It’s not amazing, but it’s not bad by any stretch of the imagination. Just… nice. B

The Power of Madonna

Vogue: There is nothing about this that is not made of win. The video is all kinds of epic. Seriously, words can not do it justice, just go watch it on YouTube again. A*

Like A Virgin: Why isn’t Emma allowed a solo? They merged her vocals with Rachel’s so much, you can’t even hear her. Rachel gets enough, Glee producers. Time to share the love. Still though, a really good version. A

4 Minutes: How do you make the average song better? If your answer is, “include a brass band” you would be correct. Also, I enjoy that they made Mercedes sing both “grab a boy, grab a girl” bits rather than splitting them as in the original and therefore forcing Kurt to sing hetero lyrics. A

Like A Prayer: This is really amazing. There are some who say it is even better than Don’t Stop. They are wrong, but it’s still incredible. Particularly the use of a gospal choir. Yay. A*

Home

A House Is Not A Home: Not entirely sure why the writers decided Kurt would be much more sympathetic as an insane stalker who won’t take a hint but they could at least use non-obscure songs to make their point. E

One Less Bell To Answer: Again, maybe something a bit more current? Beautifully sung, particularly by Kristin Chenoweth, but still. D

Beautiful: A very good version of the song, but docked marks as the storyline attached to it was incredibly rushed, and just seemed like an excuse to get Mercedes to sing this. C

About rmdbutler

2007 Brit Award nominee for Best International Female
This entry was posted in Glee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

