POTUS is my new favourite acronym*

So Jane has finally made me start watching the West Wing. She bloody loves it but thats mainly because she bums over the US President and well wants to work at the White House. But I thought I’d humour the old girl, and have now watched the entire first season.

It’s really good. I mean, you can completely see why it was so well thought of at the time. Not sure I’m in love with it yet, but I can see myself doing it. Here are my thoughts in bullet pointed form:

  • Martin Sheen is amazing. God knows how Charlie ended up the way he has.
  • I think I may be in love with Allison Janney.
  • It’s VERY talky. If you like action, or people walking without talking, this is not the programme for you.
  • It’s slightly depressing that during season 1, they keep discussing getting rid of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell (Wikipedia it if you don’t know what it is). Eleven years later, in the real world, it’s still in place. Boo-urns, Barack. Boo-urns.
  • All of the characters are brilliant and instantly likeable except Mandy. Shrill, irritating, gets in the way, always trying to make a point that sucks, she wasn’t even given the dignity of being written out. She was hated so much she just disappeared between seasons. She deserved nothing less.
  • I actually want to work at the White House now. Looks like fun.

So anyway, it’s jolly good, and if you have time, try and find it online (or borrow the DVDs off Jane like I did).

*POTUS means President of the United States. Possibly the first thing that’s explained in the entire series.

About rmdbutler

2007 Brit Award nominee for Best International Female
This entry was posted in The West Wing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to POTUS is my new favourite acronym*

  1. cupidsbow says:

    I resent the fact that you suggest I like it because I love the US President. I love it because I think it’s amazing television. And it’s part of the reason for my obsession with the US President.

  2. My partner and I recently got into it, too. I didn’t watch it when it was on TV a few years back, but my partner suggested I’d like it (because of my desire to be a senior advisor to the President [at some point]) and my partner was so on! I love this show! We started watching a couple of weeks ago and we’re already up to season 4.

    It’s just amazing to watch… In doing some looking around, I noticed that the person who wrote most of the episodes for the first 4 season (Aaron Sorkin) was behind one of the better movies to come out of the ’90s, A Few Good Men – a movie that was also steeped with engaging dialogue.

    I hope you enjoy watching the rest of the seasons! (I know I will!)

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

Leave a Reply

